SSK Center of Excellence

posted in: news-announcment | 0


Institute of Business Management (IoBM) launched the newly-constructed state-of-the-art Shahjehan S. Karim (SSK) Center of Excellence Building on Saturday, June 10, 2017, in the its Exam Hall ‘A’. The SSK Center of Excellence Building comprises of faculty rooms, examination halls, library, an up-to-date media studio and a cafeteria. IoBMs President, Mr. Shahjehan S. Karim, amid the presence of distinguished Board of Governors; Mr. Talib Karim, Rector; Ms. Sabina Mohsin, Executive Director, Admission, Administration and Finance; Deans, HoDs, faculty and management unveiled the plaque to mark the official launch of the Shahjehan S. Karim Center of Excellence.

Gracing their presence on this occasion were members of the Board of Governors including Mr. Najmuddin Shaikh,Chancellor, IoBM; Mr. Shahjehan S. Karim, President, IoBM; Secretary, Government of Sindh, Higher Education; Professor Dr. Noshad A. Shaikh, Vice Chancellor, Liaquat University of Medical and Health Sciences, Jamshoro and Nominee Chairman HEC; Mr. Basheer Janmohammad, Chairman, Dalda Foods (Pvt.) Ltd.; Mr. S. M. Muneer, Chairman, Din Group of Companies; Mr. Justice R. Ataur Rehman, Ex-Judge Sindh High Court; Mr. Salahuddin Qureshi, Mr. Muhammad Sharief, Dr. Zafar Saied Saify, Ex-Vice Chancellor, University of Karachi; Mr. Masood Hashmi, President and CEO, Orient McCann Ericson; Mr. Sikandar Sultan, Chairman, Shan Foods (Pvt.) Ltd.; Ms. Ameena Saiyid, Managing Director, Oxford University Press; Mr. Talib S. Karim, Rector, IoBM and Mr. M. W. Jahangir, Secretary, Board of Governors.

During his welcome address, Mr. Talib S. Karim shared the guiding and inspiring role Mr. Shahjehan S. Karim played in building IoBM as a national and an international brand and a pioneering institution of business management education in Pakistan. Mr. Talib S. Karim duly appreciated and acknowledged the confidence that Mr. Bashir Jan Mohammad and Mr. Masood Hashmi had in Mr. Shahjehan S. Karim’s vision of establishing a business management institute over two decades ago.

Furthermore, Mr. Talib said that the SSK Center of Excellence has been constructed on a debt-free basis where all expenses have been paid in cash through revenue without taking loans. Later, Mr. Talib Karim informed that Mr. Basheer Jan Mohammad has generously donated Rs. 50 million to the IoBM. While assuring that IoBM would allocate this money to the Endowment Fund, he also announced that the CCSIS building at IoBM would be named after Mr. Basheer Janmohammad in recognition of his noble association with the IoBM.

While delivering his citation, Mr. Basheer Jan Mohammad, Founding Member, Board of Governors and Chairman Executive Council eulogized the efforts of Mr. Shahjehan S. Karim as President of IoBM and highlighted Mr. Shahjehan’s illustrious career spanning for over four decades. Moreover, Mr. Basheer Janmohammad exalted the decisions taken by Mr. Talib S. Karim and Ms. Sabina Mohsin to bid farewell to their lucrative jobs to join the Institute at the time of its inception and impart quality business education in Pakistan.

During his speech, Mr. Najmuddin A. Shaikh, Chancellor, IoBM admired the commitment, diligence and resolve with which Mr. Shahjehan S. Karim has been promoting higher education in the country. He especially mentioned the efforts of Mr. Talib Karim, Ms. Sabina Mohsin and the Board of Governors in this regard for envisioning a brighter and better future for the youth of Pakistan by implementing the best educational practices at IoBM.

Ms. Sabina Mohsin, while delivering the Vote of Thanks, expressed her gratitude towards the Board of Members in accepting and uniting with the vision of Mr. Shahjehan S. Karim. Ms. Sabina acknowledged the efforts of the faculty, management, HoDs and Deans in turning this vision into a shining reality. Furthermore, Ms. Sabina Mohsin emphasized upon the many leadership qualities of Mr. Shahjehan S. Karim who has always been a source of guidance and inspiration for the entire IoBM family.
The Master of Ceremony at the significant occasion was Mr. Ejaz Wasay, Head of Media Studies Department.